German Book Prize 2007

As an annual award for the best German language novel the German Book Prize was presented for the first time just before the start of the Frankfurt Book Fair 2005. Austrian novelist Arno Geiger recieved the Prize for his epic family novel „Es geht uns gut“ („We are doing fine“), published by Hanser. The winner of the German Book Prize 2006 was a woman writer: Katharina Hacker received the award for her novel "Die Habenichtse" (The Have-nots"), published by Suhrkamp.

Founder of the prize is the Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels (German Publishers & Booksellers Trade Association). The Prize is intended to draw attention beyond national borders to authors writing in German, to reading and to the keynote medium of the book. The partners of the Book Prize are: Dr. Florian and Gabriele Langenscheidt, Spiegel-Verlag, the Frankfurt Book Fair and the City of Frankfurt am Main. Publishing companies in Germany, Austria and Switzerland can apply for the award by direct nomination of their titles.


Deutscher Buchpreis
c/o Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels
Susanne Hilf
Großer Hirschgraben 17-21
60311 Frankfurt am Main
Phone: +49(0)69 / 1306 334
Telefax: +49(0)69 / 1306 294

English Samples of the shortlisted novels

For exclusive sample translations and background information on the shortlisted authors and novels go to:


Press Commentaries 2006

German Book Prize 2006: Press Commentaries

Premio Alemán del Libro.42784.pdf (application/pdf 18.9 KB)







Julia Franck is awarded the German Book Prize 2007for her novel Die Mittagsfrau
The winner of the German Book Prize 2007 is Julia Franck who receives the award for her novel Die Mittagsfrau (S. Fischer). “Against the background of two world wars, Julia Franck tells the disturbing story of a woman who leaves her son, without finding herself. The book is persuasive in its vivid use of language, narrative power and psychological intensity. A novel for long conversation.”, is how the seven judges announced their choice.   More


German Book Prize 2007: novel extracts in translation on the internet
The Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels – German Publishers & Booksellers Association – is cooperating this year for the first time with the internet magazine As from today, the English-language pages of the arts magazine include English translations of excerpts from the titles nominated for the German Book Prize shortlist. These are accompanied by dossiers with brief biographies of the authors, pictures and short summaries on the novels, plus title covers.  More


German Book Prize 2007: judges nominate six novels for the shortlist
The six finalists for the German Book Prize 2007 have now been named. “When seven judges have to choose the six most important, most exciting and worthwhile out of twenty good books, there cannot be unanimity over every title”, says the spokeswoman for the judges, Felicitas von Lovenberg. “At the end of a meeting full of pleading, declarations of love and passionate attacks, the judges finally agreed on six strong finalists who show the unusual variety of this book season.” Over the past five months, the judges have read a total of 117 titles that are scheduled for publication between 1 October 2006 and 12 September 2007.  More


German Book Prize 2007: Judges nominate the novels for the longlist
The panel of judges has decided on its first selection for the German Book Prize 2007. “Without allowing ourselves to be seduced by celebrity or distracted by the pressure of originality, we have chosen twenty titles that reflect the unusual diversity and vitality in German-language literature as it presents itself this autumn in particular”, says the spokesman for the judges, Felicitas von Lovenberg.  More


German Book Prize 2007: publishers submit 112 novels
72 publishing companies from Germany, Austria and Switzerland take part / Felicitas von Lovenberg is the spokesperson for the judges / Prize presentation on 8 October in the Kaisersaal at Frankfurt’s Römer


German Book Prize 2007: appointment of new jury
German Book Prize Academy appoints Christian Döring, Karl-Markus Gauss, Felicitas von Lovenberg, Ijoma Mangold, Rudolf Müller, Mathias Schreiber and Hajo Steinert / Publishers can submit titles / Announcement at   More


Katharina Hacker receives the German Book Prize 2006 for her novel Die Habenichtse
The winner of the German Book Prize 2006 is a woman writer: Katharina Hacker receives the award for her novel Die Habenichtse (Suhrkamp)  More


© 2015 Deutscher Buchpreis | Privacy Protection | Print Version