German Book Prize 2019: The jury has been selected


Seven jury members nominated / Publishers may submit titles until 27 March 2019 / Call for submissions

The jury for the German Book Prize 2019 has been chosen. The Akademie Deutscher Buchpreis (German Book Prize Academy) has appointed the following seven literature experts to the jury:

  • Petra Hartlieb, owner of the bookstore Hartliebs Bücher in Vienna, author, member of the jury for the Österreichischer Buchpreis (Austrian Book Prize) 2017 and the Österreichischer Staatspreis für europäische Literatur (Austrian State Prize for European Literature) 2018
  • Hauke Hückstädt, director of the Literaturhaus Frankfurt since 2010, journalist, critic and lecturer
  • Björn Lauer, head of marketing and acquisitions for the Hugendubel bookstore in Frankfurt am Main
  • Jörg Magenau, independent author and literary critic for Süddeutsche Zeitung, the broadcaster rbb and the culture radio programme Deutschlandfunk Kultur, amongst others. Most recent book: “Bestseller” (Hoffmann & Campe)
  • Alf Mentzer, editor at Hessischer Rundfunk (Hessian Broadcasting Corporation), head of the literary department of hr2-kultur since 2006, department head of the hr2 day programme since 2014
  • Daniela Strigl, literary scholar and critic, member of the jury for the Ingeborg Bachmann Prize, German Book Prize 2009 and Leipzig Book Fair Prize (from 2013 to 2015), amongst others
  • Margarete von Schwarzkopf, journalist, author and moderator; has worked for the Catholic News Agency, DIE WELT and the broadcaster Norddeutscher Rundfunk, amongst others

The members of the jury will decide who receives the German Book Prize 2019. To ensure the greatest level of independence for the award, the German Book Prize Academy selects a new jury every year. It is possible to be a member of the jury more than once.

Publishers may submit titles

Starting now, publishers may nominate their titles for the German Book Prize 2019 at Between now and 27 March 2019, they may submit two German-language novels each – and recommend up to five additional titles – from their current or forthcoming lists. Applicants must be members of the Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels or of the Swiss or Austrian equivalents, the Schweizer Buchhändler- und Verleger-Verband and the Hauptverband des Österreichischen Buchhandels. The books must be published between 1 October 2018 and 17 September 2019 (when the shortlist will be announced). The books themselves, reading copies, e-books or galley proofs may be submitted until 14 June 2019.

The novel of the year will be selected through a multiple-stage process. First, the jury will review all of the novels submitted by the publishers and compile a longlist of 20 titles, which will be announced on 20 August 2019. From this list, the jurors will then select six titles for the shortlist, which will be published on 17 September 2019. These six authors will only find out which of them has won the German Book Prize on the evening of the award ceremony.

The ceremony will take place in Frankfurt on 14 October 2019, to coincide with the start of the Frankfurter Buchmesse. The winner will receive 25,000 euros, the five finalists 2,500 euros each. Inger-Maria Mahlke won the German Book Prize 2018 for her novel “Archipel” (“Archipelago”).

The German Book Prize is awarded by the Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels Stiftung – the Foundation of the German Publishers and Booksellers Association. It receives funding from the Deutsche Bank Foundation, and additional partners include the Frankfurter Buchmesse and the city of Frankfurt am Main. The television network Deutsche Welle supports the German Book Prize in its media activities both at home and abroad.

For more information and the online application form, please visit

The hashtag for the German Book Prize 2019 is #dbp19.

Landesverband wählen
LandkarteBaden-WürttembergBayernBerlin-BrandenburgHessen, Rheinland-Pfalz, SaarlandNordSachsen, Sachsen-Anhalt, ThueringenBundesverbandBundesverbandRegionalgeschäftsstelle NRW


Der Börsenverein stellt zentrale Eckdaten zur Entwicklung der Buchbranche zusammen.

Branchen-Monitor BUCH

Umsätze, Warengruppen, Vertriebswege - der Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels bietet regelmäßig einen fundierten Überblick über die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung im Buchhandel. Branchen-Monitor BUCH (BMB) heißt der monatliche E-Mail-Newsletter, den der Verband in Zusammenarbeit mit dem  Marktforschungsunternehmen Media Control Baden-Baden erstellt.


Assistent/in des Verlagsleiters Fachzeitschriften, Hanser Verlag, München


ims internationaler Medien Service GmbH & Co. KG


Metadatenmanager (m/w/d), Münchner Verlagsgruppe GmbH, München