Projekte des Börsenvereins und der Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenvereins

Eine Übersicht weiterer Projekt-Webseiten des Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels und der Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels.

Alle Projekte


German Book Prize 2021: 125 publishers submit 197 novels

More submissions and participating publishers than ever before / Knut Cordsen is appointed speaker of the jury
Erstellt am 15.04.2021

For the second year in a row, the number of submissions for the German Book Prize has reached an all-time high: 125 German-language publishers entered a total of 197 titles into the running for the best novel of the year. That’s 10 titles and 5 publishers more than in the record-breaking year 2020. Of the publishers, 83 are based in Germany, 22 in Switzerland, 19 in Austria and one in Luxemburg.

Of the proposed titles, 110 are from the current spring programme and 67 others will be released in the autumn. Twenty titles were already published last autumn. Each publisher could submit a maximum of two titles that have been or will be published between October 2020 and 21 September 2021, when the shortlist will be announced. In addition, they could each recommend up to five further titles. This year, 112 novels were added to the list of recommendations – 16 more than last year. The jurors may request titles from this list to compete in the selection process.

The first joint meeting of the jury was held via videoconference. The members of the jury appointed Knut Cordsen (culture editor, Bayerischer Rundfunk) as their speaker. The other members of the jury are: Bettina Fischer (director Literaturhaus Cologne), Anja Johannsen (director Literarisches Zentrum Göttingen), Richard Kämmerlings (literary correspondent, Die Welt), Sandra Kegel (head of literature and arts section, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung), Beate Scherzer (bookseller, Proust Wörter + Töne) and Anne-Catherine Simon (editor of literature and arts section, Die Presse).

The jury selects the novel of the year through a multiple-stage process. On 24 August 2021, it will announce the 20 nominated titles. From this longlist, the jurors will then select six titles for the shortlist, which will be released on 21 September 2021. These six authors will only find out who among them has won the German Book Prize on 18 October 2021, the evening of the award ceremony.

The German Book Prize is awarded by the Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels (Foundation for Book Culture and the Promotion of Reading of the German Publishers and Booksellers Association). It receives funding from the Deutsche Bank Stiftung (Deutsche Bank Foundation), and the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media and city of Frankfurt am Main are also partners. The television network Deutsche Welle supports the German Book Prize in its media activities both at home and abroad.

More information about the German Book Prize 2021 is available at

The hashtag for the German Book Prize 2021 is #dbp21.

Download picture of the jury members


Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

Braubachstraße 16
60311 Frankfurt am Main

Telefon +49 69 13 06 292