Projekte des Börsenvereins und der Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenvereins

Eine Übersicht weiterer Projekt-Webseiten des Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels und der Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels.

Alle Projekte


German Book Prize 2021: Meet the jury

Seven jury members selected / Publishers may submit titles until 26 March 2021 / Call for submissions at
Erstellt am 09.02.2021

The jury for the German Book Prize 2021 has been chosen. The Akademie Deutscher Buchpreis (German Book Prize Academy) has appointed the following seven literature experts to the jury:

  • Knut Cordsen (culture editor, Bayerischer Rundfunk)
  • Bettina Fischer (director Literaturhaus Cologne)
  • Anja Johannsen (director Literarisches Zentrum Göttingen)
  • Richard Kämmerlings (literary correspondent, Die Welt)
  • Sandra Kegel (head of the literature and arts section Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung)
  • Beate Scherzer (bookseller, Proust Wörter + Töne)
  • Anne-Catherine Simon (editor of the literature and arts section, Die Presse)

The members of the jury decide who will receive the German Book Prize 2021. To ensure the greatest level of independence for the award, the Akademie Deutscher Buchpreis selects a new jury every year. It is possible to serve as a member of the jury more than once.

Publishers may submit titles

Starting now, publishers can nominate titles for the German Book Prize 2021 at Between now and 26 March 2021, they may each submit two German-language novels – and recommend up to five additional titles – from their current or forthcoming lists. To participate, applicants must be members of the Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels (German Publishers and Booksellers Association) or of the Swiss or Austrian equivalents, the Schweizer Buchhändler- und Verleger-Verband and Hauptverband des Österreichischen Buchhandels. The books must be published between 1 October 2020 and 21 September 2021, when the shortlist will be announced. The books themselves, reading copies, e-books or galley proofs may be submitted until 18 June 2021.

The novel of the year is selected through a multiple-stage process. First, the jury reviews all novels submitted by publishers and compiles a longlist of 20 titles, which will be announced on 24 August 2021. From this list, the jurors then select six titles for the shortlist, which will be released on 21 September 2021. These six authors will only find out who among them has won the German Book Prize on the evening of the award ceremony itself.

The ceremony will be held in the Kaisersaal of the Frankfurt Römer on 18 October 2021 to coincide with the start of Frankfurter Buchmesse. The winner will receive 25,000 euros, the five finalists 2,500 euros each. Anne Weber won the German Book Prize 2020 for her novel “Annette, ein Heldinnenepos” (“Annette, an Epic of a Heroine”).

The German Book Prize is awarded by the Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels (Foundation for Book Culture and the Promotion of Reading of the German Publishers and Booksellers Association). It receives funding from the Deutsche Bank Stiftung (Deutsche Bank Foundation), and the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media as well as the city of Frankfurt am Main are also partners. The television network Deutsche Welle supports the German Book Prize in its media activities both at home and abroad.

For more information and the application materials, please visit

The hashtag for the German Book Prize 2021 is #dbp21.

Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

Braubachstraße 16
60311 Frankfurt am Main

Telefon +49 69 13 06 292