

The German Non-Fiction Prize at a glance

The prize

The German Non-Fiction Prize is awarded annually to a non-fiction book for outstanding presentation and communication of topics relevant to contemporary history.

Goal of the prize

The prize aims to promote awareness of non-fiction as a basis for transmitting knowledge, developing informed opinions and encouraging public discourse.

Funding organisation: Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenvereins des

Deutschen Buchhandels (Foundation for Book Culture and the Promotion of Reading of the German Publishers and Booksellers

Association)

Prize money: Total: 42,500 euros; 25,000 euros for the winner, 2,500 euros each

for the nominees

Awards ceremony: 16 June 2020 at the Humboldt Forum in Berlin **Main sponsor:** Deutsche Bank Stiftung (Deutsche Bank Foundation)

Supporters: MVB GmbH, Humboldt Forum im Berliner Schloss (Foundation of the

Humboldt Forum in the Berlin Palace)

The Akademie Deutscher Sachbuchpreis (Academy of the German Non-Fiction Prize)

- 11 representatives of the book, media and culture industries, and science, as well as representatives of the prize's sponsor and supporters
- The list of current members is available at www.deutscher-sachbuchpreis.de
- The Chairman of the Akademie Deutscher Sachbuchpreis is the President of the Börsenverein, Heinrich Riethmüller
- Tasks: Act as an advisory board, select the jury

The jury

- 7 jurors
- Experts from the areas of non-fiction criticism, journalism, science, the cultural sector and the book trade
- Selected by the Akademie Deutscher Sachbuchpreis each year

Criteria for the award

- Relevant subject
- Narrative quality of the text
- Presentation of the topic, clarity of the language and accessibility of the material
- Quality of the research

Submissions criteria

Submissions may be made by publishers who are members of the Börsenvereins des
Deutschen Buchhandels (German Publishers and Booksellers Association) or of the Austrian



or Swiss equivalents, the Hauptverband des Österreichischen Buchhandels and the Schweizer Buchhändler- und Verleger-Verband

- Each publisher may submit at most two titles and recommend up to five additional titles
- Submitted books must be published between May of the previous year and the date on which the nominations are announced
- The jury may request additional titles if necessary
- An original German-language book
- Satisfy the criteria for non-fiction, technically and in terms of content, and concern current events
- Monograph

Selection process

- The jury compiles a list of nominations comprising eight titles, which is announced around World Book Day in April
- From this selection, the members of the jury choose the non-fiction book of the year, which they announce in June

The aim of events and other communications initiatives, including on social media, is to promote public discussion about the nominated titles and their topics.

The 2019/2020 prize

23 September 2019 Beginning of submission period for publishers

5 November 2019 Announcement of jury members /

22 November 2019 Ending of submission period for publishers

14 January 2020 Announcement of number of submissions and speaker of the jury

21 April 2020 Announcement of nominated titles

16 June 2020 Awards ceremony and announcement of winning title at the Humboldt

Forum in Berlin

Further information: www.deutscher-sachbuchpreis.de