Initiativen des Börsenvereins und der Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenvereins

Eine Übersicht der Projekt-Webseiten des Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels und der Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels.


German Book Prize 2024: Meet the jury for the 20th-anniversary year

Seven jury members selected / The German Book Prize is being awarded for the 20th time / Publishers may submit titles until 20 March 2024 / Call for submissions at
Erstellt am 06.02.2024

The jury for the 20th German Book Prize has been chosen. For the anniversary year 2024, the Akademie Deutscher Buchpreis (German Book Prize Academy) has appointed the following seven literature experts to the jury:

  • Gerrit Bartels (Der Tagesspiegel)
  • Magdalena Birkmann (independent literary mediator and bookseller)
  • Natascha Freundel (Rundfunk Berlin-Brandenburg)
  • Torsten Hoffmann (University of Stuttgart)
  • Marianna Lieder (independent critic)
  • Regina Moths (“Literatur Moths” bookshop)
  • Klaus Nüchtern (Falter magazine)

The members of the jury decide who will receive the German Book Prize 2024. To ensure the greatest level of independence for the award, the Akademie Deutscher Buchpreis selects a new jury every year. It is possible to serve as a member of the jury more than once.

The 20th German Book Prize will be awarded in the Kaisersaal of the Frankfurt Römer on 14 October 2024 to coincide with the start of the Frankfurter Buchmesse. Following the award ceremony, an anniversary party will take place in the Römerhallen. There are plans for additional activities and products related to the anniversary, including a book with reading samples from the 20 award-winning novels and a German Book Prize game, which will be available in bookshops beginning in October.

Publishers may submit titles

Starting now, publishers can submit titles for the German Book Prize 2024 at Until 20 March 2024, they may each submit two German-language novels – and recommend up to five additional titles – from their current or forthcoming lists. To participate, applicants must be members of the Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels (German Publishers and Booksellers Association), or of the Swiss or Austrian equivalents, the Schweizer Buchhandel- und Verlags-Verband and the Hauptverband des Österreichischen Buchhandels. The books must be published between 1 October 2023 and 17 September 2024, when the shortlist will be announced. Books, reading copies, e-books or galley proofs may be submitted until 14 June 2024.

The novel of the year is selected through a multi-stage process. First, the jury reviews all the novels submitted by publishers and compiles a longlist of 20 titles, which will be announced on 20 August 2024. From this list, the jury members select six titles for the shortlist, which will be released on 17 September 2024. These six authors will only find out who among them has won the German Book Prize on the evening of the award ceremony itself. The winner will receive 25,000 euros in prize money; the five finalists 2,500 euros each. Tonio Schachinger won the German Book Prize 2023 for his novel “Echtzeitalter”.

The German Book Prize is awarded by the Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels (Foundation for Book Culture and the Promotion of Reading of the German Publishers and Booksellers Association). The main sponsor of the German Book Prize is the Deutsche Bank Stiftung 
(Deutsche Bank Foundation), and Frankfurter Buchmesse and the city of Frankfurt am Main are also partners. The television network Deutsche Welle supports the German Book Prize in its media activities both at home and abroad.

Additional information and the application materials are available at

The hashtag for the German Book Prize 2024 is #dbp24.
The hashtag for the 20th anniversary is #dbp20Jahre.

Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

Braubachstraße 16
60311 Frankfurt am Main

Telefon +49 69 13 06 292