Projekte des Börsenvereins und der Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenvereins

Eine Übersicht weiterer Projekt-Webseiten des Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels und der Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels.

Alle Projekte


German Non-Fiction Prize 2023: meet the jury

Seven jury members chosen / Publishers may submit titles until 18 November 2022 / Call for submissions on
Erstellt am 02.11.2022

The jury for the German Non-Fiction Prize 2023 has been selected. The Akademie Deutscher Sachbuchpreis (Academy of the German Non-Fiction Prize) has appointed to the jury the following seven experts from the areas of non-fiction criticism, journalism, science and the book trade:

•    Julika Griem (Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities [KWI] Essen) 
•    Stefan Koldehoff (Deutschlandfunk)
•    Michael Lemling (“Buchhandlung Lehmkuhl” bookshop) 
•    Markus Rex (Alfred Wegener Institute) 
•    Jeanne Rubner (Technical University of Munich) 
•    Adam Soboczynski (Die ZEIT)
•    Mirjam Zadoff (Munich Documentation Centre for the History of National Socialism)

The members of the jury will decide who receives the German Non-Fiction Prize 2023. At their first joint meeting, they will appoint their spokesperson. The Akademie Deutscher Sachbuchpreis selects a new jury every year. It is possible to serve as a member of the jury more than once.

The Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels (Foundation for Book Culture and the Promotion of Reading of the German Publishers and Booksellers Association) awards the prize, worth a total of 42,500 euros, to an outstanding non-fiction book written in German that inspires social debate. The winner receives 25,000 euros, the seven runners-up 2,500 euros each. The award ceremony will be held on 1 June 2023 in the Small Hall of the Elbphilharmonie concert hall in Hamburg.

Publishers may submit titles

Until 18 November 2022, publishers may submit two German-language monographs each from their current or planned programme and recommend up to five additional titles on These titles must be published between May 2022 and April 2023 and be available in bookstores no later than 18 April, when the nominees are announced. 

The non-fiction book of the year is selected through a two-stage process. First, the jury compiles a list of nominees comprising eight titles, which is announced on 18 April 2023. Then, from this selection, the members of the jury choose the non-fiction book of the year. The eight authors only find out which of them has won the German Non-Fiction Prize on the evening of the award ceremony itself.

The Deutsche Bank Stiftung (Deutsche Bank Foundation) is the main sponsor of the prize, which is also supported by the city of Hamburg and the foundation ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius.

Complete information about the prize and the online application form are available at

The hashtag for the German Non-Fiction Prize is #DeutscherSachbuchpreis

Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

Braubachstraße 16
60311 Frankfurt am Main

Telefon +49 69 13 06 292